A brief word on the archive

This week I visited the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s  (CVR) archive for the first time. I have concluded that the CVR archive is the primary source for my research, although I have been made aware of other collections that can supplement it. For example, I was told about a collection of letters to Lima’s mayor in the 1980s, Alfonso Barrantes, from local leaders regarding escalating violence. This collection is found at the national library, I don’t know much else. I’ve written to a historian who has used it and hope she will help me.

On my visit to the archive, one major point I can make is that it is very easily accessed. All you have to do is present your DNI or passport at the visitor window, and you will be given a pass. Afterwards, the archive is located on the second floor where you can ask for specific case files or ask for help narrowing down your search. The person that helped me, and was recommended by three people, was very kind and even provided me with a list of cases from Lima on my flashdrive. Once I get to peruse this list I’ll return and look at those cases.

My next stop, before immersing myself in the archive is the Institute of Peruvian Studies (IEP). Once I finish this initial stage I hope to provide more detailed content on Lima.

2 thoughts on “A brief word on the archive

  1. Ah the many days I spent in the CVR archive last year. The staff are so helpful though!

    Depending on what you are looing for, the Hemeroteca at PUCP has some useful materials and a fairly substantial press archive for the conflict years. I think APRODEH also has a small press archive and some case reports, although I’ve never used their archive myself.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the recommendations! I have a few contacts in APRODEH, I was planning on going next week. I’ve visited the PUCP’s Hemeroteca in the past, and it is helpful and free when taking photos (unlike the Biblioteca Nacional). The past few days I’ve visited the IEP and DESCO, I plan to post on my meetings soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

